Top 10 McCainisms about the Economy

10. The issue of economics is not something I’ve understood as well as I should.

9. I’m going to be honest: I know a lot less about economics than I do about military and foreign policy issues. I still need to be educated.

8. I don’t know where you got that quote from. I’m very well versed in economics; I was at the Reagan Revolution.

7. Recession is partly psychological and not inevitable.

6. I still believe our fundamental underpinnings of our economy are strong.

5. I’d like to see a lot of the unnecessary government regulations eliminated.

4. I think the deregulation was probably helpful to growth of our economy

3. I have always been committed to the principle that it is not the duty of government to bail out and reward those who act irresponsibly, whether they are big banks or small borrowers.

2. Now, my friends, I’ll offer anybody here $50 an hour if you’ll go pick lettuce in Yuma this season and pick for the whole season. …you can’t do it, my friend. (McCain, defending illegal immigration at a labor union meeting)

1. “I understand the economy. I was chairman of the Commerce Committee that oversights every part of our economy.” –ignoring the fact that it is actually the Senate Banking Committee which is responsible for credit, financial services, and housing — the very areas currently in crisis, CNBC interview, Sept. 16, 2008

honorable mention goes to mccain’s former chief economic advisor, phil gramm:

“You’ve heard of mental depression; this is a mental recession….We have sort of become a nation of whiners.”

1 Comment

Filed under Economy, McCainisms

One response to “Top 10 McCainisms about the Economy

  1. The most exciting attractions are between two opposites that never meet.AndyWarholAndy Warhol

Leave a Reply

