McCain was against the surge before he was for it

right now:

It’s entertaining, in that I was the greatest critic of the initial four years, three and a half years. I came back from my first trip to Iraq and said, This is going to fail. We’ve got to change the strategy to the one we’re using now. But life isn’t fair.

the reality:

“It’s clear that the end is very much in sight.” [ABC, 4/9/03]

“I’m confident we’re on the right course.” [ABC News, 3/7/04]

“I do think that progress is being made in a lot of Iraq. Overall, I think a year from now, we will have made a fair amount of progress if we stay the course. If I thought we weren’t making progress, I’d be despondent.” [The Hill, 12/8/05]

“There are neighborhoods in Baghdad where you and I could walk through those neighborhoods, today” 5/26/07

The Baghdad Market, is like a normal outdoor market in Indiana in the summertime. (4/3/07)

1 Comment

Filed under Flip Flopping, Iraq

One response to “McCain was against the surge before he was for it

  1. Pingback: John Mccain just doesn’t understand foreign policy… « Maverick Watch

Leave a Reply

